Skip to main content

Newport News Public Library: Library Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

  • Todd Wright, Chair
  • Peter J. Mercier, Past Chair
  • Kara Akins, Vice-Chair
  • Lawrence Atkins
  • Xavian Draper
  • Mary Ellen Frantz
  • Theresa Hammond
  • Dola Maahs
  • Julie Richter
  • Caroline Samuels
  • Frederick R. Tench
  • Elizabeth Young
  • Mary Keeling, School Representative
  • Sonia Antoine, Director, Ex-Officio

To contact any member of the Board of Trustees, call 757.926.1350 or email

Agenda and Minutes

About the Library Board

The Library Board shall advise and make recommendations concerning policy and administration to the City Librarian (Director) or the City Manager on any library matter.  It is an advisory board.

The Library Board consists of twelve (12) members who must be residents of the city and are appointed by City Council.  The Superintendent of Schools or his designated representative is also a member of the Board with full voting rights.  Any Newport News resident interested in serving on the Board should fill out a Board Bank application.  Board Bank applications are available online and at any Newport News public library. 

Appointments are made every two (2) years, with the terms of all members appointed to be four (4) years, except that appointments to fill vacancies will be for the unexpired terms.

Facebook Twitter Instagram