Skip to main content

Newport News Public Library: Genealogy Links

Getting Started

Watch Genealogy on PBS. See more from History Detectives.

Genealogy Resources

jQuery UI Tabs - Default functionality
    Primarily a subscription database, it also offers the search of many FREE databases as well.
  • Death Records Indexing Project (DRIP)
    Sponsored by the Virginia Genealogical Society and made available online via the Library of Virginia's Digital Library Program, over 60 volunteers are working to index 1853-1896 death registers. This project is still in process, but many counties are already available.
  • FamilySearch
    The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints - Ancestor Search searches: Ancestral File, International Genealogical Index, Pedigree Resource File, and Web sites.
  • Immigrant Ships Transcriber's Guild
    Founded by a small group of people in late September of 1998, they now have nearly 500 volunteers who work diligently to decipher and transcribe passenger lists which are then uploaded to our website.
    "The Internet's oldest and largest FREE genealogy site."
  • Social Security Death Index
    This is a list, updated quarterly, of more than 50 million people for whom a request for a Social security death benefit was filed.
  • Bureau of Land Management
    The Official Federal Land Patent Records Site.
  • How to obtain birth, death, marriage and divorce certificates
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics.
  • Library of Congress
    Repository of almost every county and family history ever written. Search the catalog, and don't forget the manuscripts collection!
  • National Archives and Records Administration
    Contains useful how-to information, as well as the NARA Archival Information Locator (NAIL) database.
  • WorldGenWeb Project
    The WorldGenWeb Project is a genealogical organization dedicated to the free access of genealogical information by anyone in the world. Our mission is to have every country in the world represented by an online website and hosted by researchers who either live in their own country or who are familiar with their country's resources.
  • Genealogy and History of the Eastern Shore of Virginia (GHOTES)
    For the sharing of information about the genealogy and history of Virginia's Eastern Shore, Accomack and Northampton Counties.
  • National Genealogical Society
    The National Genealogical Society is a service organization that leads and educates the national genealogical community, assisting members in tracing family histories since being founded in 1903.
  • The Library of Virginia
    Historical and genealogical information of Virginia.
  • Tidewater Genealogical Society
    The primary geographical area of interest is Virginia, with emphasis on that part east of the Fall Line. The Society is dedicated to encouraging and sustaining interest in genealogical affairs through education and research programs designed to assist members in their search for ancestors.
  • Virginia Genealogical Society
    The Virginia Genealogical Society was organized in 1960 to foster interest in genealogical, biographical, historical and heraldic research; to publish information pertaining to genealogy; and to share genealogical methods, techniques and knowledge among the members of the Society.
  • Afro American and Historical Genealogy Society of Hampton Roads, Virginia
    A chartered member of Afro American Historical & Genealogical Society and is also known as AAHGS-Hampton Roads. The VSBGR was formed to provide support for its members and others interested in knowing about their ancestry.

  • Christine's Genealogy Website
    Information about and links to African American genealogy including searchable databases such as the Freedman's Bureau.
  • Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
    More than 65,400 links!
  • Genealogy Toolbox
    Resources include a list of over 70,000 links to genealogical resources on the Internet, informative news and articles on family history research, a guide to genealogical software, pages for posting research questions, a genealogical bookstore and a site to register your genealogical home page.
  • US GenWeb Project
    Entrance to the massive US GenWeb project wherein volunteers across the United States maintain linked web sites about their states and counties.
Facebook Twitter Instagram