Skip to main content

Newport News Public Library: History Links

History Links

jQuery UI Tabs - Default functionality
  • History Resources
    From the University of Virginia, this list of resources includes the University's digital collection of documents (George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, etc.) as well as links to historical associations, museum exhibits, teaching tools, journals and document collections nationwide.

  • Library of Congress American Memory
    Historical collections from the National Digital Library of the Library of Congress. Search or browse collections of photos and prints, documents, maps, etc., plus special exhibits and new collections.

  • Today in History from the Library of Congress
    Today in history with links to documents from the Library's Digital collection.


  • Today in History
    What happened on today's date in the past? Find out here!


  • History Resources
    Eclectic mix of sites -- alphabetical arrangement.

  • The History Net
    Indexes over 370 articles from historical periodicals on a variety of historical subjects.

  • Virginia War Museum
    Interpreting American Military History from 1775 to the present.

  • The Mariners' Museum
    The Mariners' Museum, one of the largest international maritime museums in the world, is dedicated to "preserving and interpreting the culture of the sea and its tributaries, its conquest by man, and its influence on civilization.
  • Biography
    Short bios -- most are 3 to 4 sentences -- of famous people from all walks of life. Do a search or browse a list. Over 20,000 entries.

  • Presidents of the United States
    Includes biographical information, timeline, election results, cabinet members, notable events, historical documents, and links on all 41 presidents.

  • Women's Biographies
    Distinguished women, past and present -- writers, educators, politicians, artists, etc. Search by occupation or by name.

  • American Civil War Homepage
    Hundreds of links to Civil War sites; includes maps, biography, photos, regimental histories, rosters, battles, diaries, etc.

  • Virginia Civil War
    Battlefields and sites; includes textual history, photos, maps, events calendar, and visitor's info.

  • Directory of Virginia Historical Societies
    Contact information for Virginia historical societies.

  • Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities
    Jamestown archaeology (includes info on current digs), history, list of first settlers. Links to other historical sites in Virginia.

  • Monticello
    Description of daily life in Monticello through "a day in the life of Thomas Jefferson." Also includes links to Jefferson quotations arranged by subject.

  • Colonial Williamsburg Almanack
    Experience Colonial life by exploring the trades, politics and other aspects of colonial life. Meet the people -- biographies of prominent colonists. Colonial dateline. Additional links to food, holidays, religion, etc.
     
Facebook Twitter Instagram