Material for and about the military!
Military & Family Reading: Available Titles
Military families face stressful times that are unique to the military lifestyle. This book is designed to help children especially, but also their parents, during such difficult times.
This is a story about how life, like sports, can be unpredictable, frustrating, and exhilarating.
A timely, eye-opening novel showing how war affects families on both sides.
*Select resources provided courtesy of: University of Oregon*
- Vet Success.gov is a VA website offering job search assistance. Includes tips on resume writing, interviewing, and filling out applications. Free registration required to view job postings. Also find local Vet Success offices and request assistance.
- Cleared Connections.com for Federal agency and contractor jobs requiring security clearance.
- Feds Hire Vets offers "Federal employment information for veterans, transitioning military service members, their families, and Federal hiring officials."
- Military Spouse Employment Partnership
- The Occupational Handbook Online: Information on training and education, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, working conditions, job search tips, links to information about the job market in each state, and more.
See our Job Seekers section for additional employment resources!
*Select resources provided courtesy of: University of Oregon*
- Tricare Reserve Select
- Military health and dental plans available to Guard and Reserve members not currently on active duty (and their families.) Basic information on premiums, deductibles, and how to apply.
- VA Health Care
- In addition to those who have had active military service in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, or Coast Guard, Guard and Reserve members who have deployed to Iraq or Afghanistan are eligible for 5 years of free VA health care for any service-related condition. Use the VA Health site to get health information, find your nearest VA health center, apply for benefits, and contact the VA with any questions.
- Pleural Mesothelioma - information for vets
- The main cause of Pleural Mesothelioma is asbestos exposure, and many veterans have been exposed, particularly those who served in the Navy. This site has useful information and links.
- PTSD Coach: Mobile App for Android and iPhone
- "PTSD Coach was designed for Veterans and military Service Members who have, or may have, Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). This app provides users with education about PTSD, information about professional care, a self-assessment for PTSD, opportunities to find support, and tools that can help users manage the stresses of daily life with PTSD."
- Real Warriors.net
- The Real Warriors Campaign is an initiative launched by the Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE) to promote the processes of building resilience, facilitating recovery and supporting reintegration of returning service members, veterans and their families. The site includes "real advice" podcasts, various sources of help (phone, chat), a mobile site, news, and more.
*Select resources provided courtesy of: Virginia Beach Public Library*
Civil Relief for Servicemembers
- The Servicemembers’ Civil Relief Act provides for temporary suspension of judicial and administrative proceedings and other transactions that may adversely affect the civil rights of service-members during their military service.
Courts and Boards
- The Board of Veterans Appeals is a part of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs which reviews benefit claims determinations made by local offices and issues decisions on appeals.
- The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces exercises worldwide appellate jurisdiction over members of the armed forces on active duty and other persons subject to the Uniform Code of Military Justice.
- The U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims reviews administrative decisions by the Board of Veterans' Appeals that are adverse to a veteran's claim of entitlement to benefits for service-connected disabilities, survivor benefits and other benefits such as education payments and waiver of indebtedness.
Legal Assistance (Civil) for Servicemembers
- The Air Base Wing Judge Advocate – Langley Air Force Base provides preventive law, legal assistance and tax service to eligible active duty and retired personnel and dependents.
- The Armed Forces Legal Assistance - Services Locator can be used to locate active duty legal activities offering general legal services within the continental United States.
- The Army Legal Assistance Office – Fort Eustis provides a variety of client services to eligible military personnel, dependents and retirees on personal legal matters including wills, trusts, living wills/appointments of health care agents, promissory notes, leases, real estate, financial issues, Service Members Civil Relief Act, Uniformed Services Employment Reemployment Rights Act, federal and state taxes, Virginia motor vehicle laws, sales contracts, family law, and military administrative legal matters.
- The Coast Guard Legal Service Command - Norfolk provides personal legal services to individuals eligible for legal assistance.
- The Navy Legal Service Office Mid-Atlantic provides legal services in the areas of military criminal defense, civil legal assistance and income tax preparation for active duty Navy, Marine Corps, Army, Air Force and Coast Guard service members and their dependents, reservists on active duty for 30 days or more, and retirees, as resources permit.
- Find information about military law and court-martial and other judicial procedures using the following online resources:
- The Manual for Courts-Martial, United States (2008 Edition) contains regulations issued by the President for implementation of the laws enacted by Congress for the administration of military justice.
- Military Legal Resources - The U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School Library in Charlottesville, VA provides access to extensive collections of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law.
- The Uniform Code of Military Justice contains substantive and procedural laws enacted by Congress to govern the administration of justice for all of the military services.